Research Associates

You are here

The title of Research Associate is used to denote an individual’s formal scholarly affiliation with the Institution. However, Research Associates are not employees of the Smithsonian. A STRI Research Associate is someone who has demonstrated the qualities of superior achievement expected of an established and independent research scientist.

These qualities of superior achievement include, among others:

  • The capacity to identify significant and relevant research questions that are compatible with STRI' s Mission.
  • The ability to formulate and carry out the research to answer these questions.
  • The ability to exercise superior judgment and discrimination in the interpretation of research results.
  • The motivation to present the results of this research for the judgment of others through lectures, publications and papers.
  • The recognition of excellence in research through commonly used mechanisms such as citations and peer reviews.

Research Associates are expected to pursue independent research, although collaboration with other scientists is highly desirable. They are expected to take an active interest in the welfare of the Institution by participating in the preparation of research proposals, education programs, communication activities, committees and task forces, and by providing assistance and advice to their colleagues.

Adams Rachelle The Ohio State University
Altieri Andrew University of Florida
Baer Boris University of California, Riverside
Bailey Karen University of Colorado, Boulder Karen.Bailey@Colorado.EDU
Barrios Hector University of Panama
Batterman Sarah University of Leeds
Bernal Moises Auburn University
Bernal Ximena Purdue University
Berrey Charles California State University at Sacramento
Bohlman Stephanie University of Florida
Brawn Jeffrey University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Breedy Odalisca University of Costa Rica
Broders Kirk USDA-ARS
Buchs David Cardiff University
Carter Gerarld The Ohio State University
Carvajal Diana Universidad Externado de Colombia
Castellanos Gustavo Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries ? IGB
Chaverri Gloriana Universidad de Costa Rica
Clark Kasey University of Liverpool
Clay Keith Tulane University
Coley Phyllis University of Utah
Collado Laura University of Vermont
Comita Liza Yale University
Coronado James University of Panama
Cossio Ricardo Stanford University
Cox Christian Florida International University
Cramer Katie Arizona State University
Crofoot Margaret Max Planck Institute of Animal Behavior
Cusack Daniela Colorado State University
Dalling James University of Illinois
De Leon Luis Fernando University of Massachusetts
de Medeiros Bruno Field Museum, Chicago
Dechman Dina Max Planck Institute for Ornithology
Della Torgna Gina Universidad Interamericana de Panamá
Dent Daisy University of Stirling
Dick Christopher University of Michigan
Dobson Andrew Princeton University
Dudley Robert University of California, Berkeley
Elias Marianne Université des Antilles
Emlet Richard University of Oregon
Engelbrecht Bettina University of Bayreuth
Escobar Jaime Universidad del Norte
Estrada Sergio Universidad del Rosario
Fernandez Hermogenes INDICASAT
Finnegan Seth University of California, Berkeley
Freestone Amy Temple University
Geipel Inga
Gilbert Gregory University of California Santa Cruz
Gilbert Edward Arizona State University
Grouard Sandrine
Hassan Salem Max Planck Institute
Herrera Amalia STRI
Hiller Alexandra
Hirsch Benjamin James Cook University
Hoyos Jorge Universidad de Magallanes
Isaza Ilean
Jansen Patrick Wageningen University
Jiggins Christopher University of Cambridge
Johnson Maggie Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Jones Frank (Andy) Oregon State University
Kapheim Karen Utah State University
Kays Roland North Carolina State University and Museum of Natural Sciences
Keiner Christina Rochester Institute of Technology
Kelley Patrick University of Wyoming
Kitajima Kaoru University of Florida/Kyoto University
Knorschild Mirjam Free University Berlin
Laliberte Etienne Université de Montréal
Lamarre Greg Czech Academy of Sciences
Lasso Eloisa Universidad de Los Andes
Lasso Marixa Centro de Investigaciones Históricas, Antropológicas y Culturales AIP (CIHAC AIP),
Leung Brian McGill University
Logan Michael University of Nevada, Reno
Lucas Peter Kuwait University
Mangan Scott University of Arkansas
Martin Arnaud The George Washington University
Martinez Camila Universidad EAFIT
Medina Daniel Universidade Estadual de Campinas
Mendizabal Tomás Centro de Investigaciones Históricas, Antropológicas y Culturales - AIP
Merrill Richard Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität
Meylan Anne Florida Fish and Wildlife, Conservation Commission?s, Florida Marine Research Institute
Meylan Peter Eckerd College
Montgomery Stephen University of Bristol
Moreno Ricardo University of Panama
Nottingham Andrew Leeds University
O'Mara Teague Southeastern Louisiana University
Parker Ingrid University of California, Santa Cruz
Pimiento Catalina Swansea University
Potvin Catherine McGill University
Puebla Oscar GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
Ranere Anthony Temple University
Roberts Tyson
Robles Samuel Centro de Investigaciones Históricas, Antropológicas y Culturales AIP (CIHAC AIP)
Rodriguez Oris University of Panama
Rowell Kirsten University of Colorado, Boulder Kirsten.Rowell@Colorado.EDU
Ryan Michael University of Texas
Salgado Jorge University of Nottingham
Sanchez-Azofeifa Arturo University of Alberta
Santiago Louis University of California, Riverside
Sarmiento Carolina University of South Florida
Sayer Emma Lancaster University
Schnitzer Stefan Marquette University
Scott Jarrod
Sedio Brian University of Texas at Austin
Sertich Joseph Denver Museum of Nature & Science
Shik Jonathan University of Copenhagen
Silvera Katia University of California, Riverside
Srygley Robert USDA
Stockmaier Sebastian University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Strickland Lynette University of Memphis, TN
Symes Laurel Cornell University
Tanner Edmund University of Cambridge
Tarwater Corey University of Wyoming
Taylor Ryan Salisbury University
ter Hofstede Hannah Dartmouth College
Thacker Robert Stony Brook University
Tschapka Marco University of Ulm
Valdespino Ivan University of Panama
Van Bael Sunshine Tulane University
Van Breugel Michiel Yale NUS College (Singapore)
Velasquez-Runk Julie Wake Forest University
Villarreal Juan Carlos University of Laval
Wake Thomas University of California, Los Angeles
Warkentin Karen Boston University
Wulf Janie Florida State University
Yanoviak Stephen University of Louisville
Zalamea Camilo University of South Florida
Zotz Gerhard University Oldenburg
Back to Top